With Killer Blue Shoes: Whim 14 Reveal

Whim 14 is complete. It’s blue flowers and exposed blue zipper  made the decision for shoes easy, and Anna models it here with her Killer Blue Shoes.

Cap sleeved sheath in gold vintage look floral with exposed zipper in blue

Whim 14 complete

Oooh, these shoes! I remember when we found them, on a clearance rack, begging to be taken home, and justifying the request with such a low price it was easy to say yes. Anna prefers blue, and these are her aqua shade of blue shoes. She also has violet blue T-straps and subdued blue flats. So many shoes, so little time.

Shoes to wear with cap sleeved sheath in gold vintage look floral with exposed zipper in blue

Killer blue shoes

The print used for this dress had a vintage feel, but the yardage is a fairly recent purchase. (By recent, I mean in the last 8 years or so…I remember buying it when living in Pennsylvania, so after February, 2006.) To keep the dress looking current, I exposed a contrasting blue zipper in the back. The zipper is, ironically, vintage. It’s part of the stash of yard good and notions I inherited from my very crafty grandmother, Nora Williams.

Cap sleeved sheath in gold vintage look floral with exposed zipper in blue

Exposed zipper in vintage blue

I also used vintage blue bias tape to bind the armhole openings and vintage blue hem lace to finish the hem, both from my Grandmother’s stash. Clearly, this fabriholic issue is a genetic flaw!

Cap sleeved sheath in gold vintage look floral with exposed zipper in blue

Binding in blue

Cap sleeved sheath in gold vintage look floral with exposed zipper in blue

Hemmed with blue lace

So another week, another whim, another goal completed. One less piece of fabric in my stash. I have to confess, I stood this week at the cutting counter in a fabric store and waited for an available clerk to cut my selection. As I waited, I thought about my sewing workload this week, and Whim 14 to finish and knew it would be a little while before I got to create the project I was imagining. So I put the fabric back. Yes, I put the fabric back and left without it. Amazing. This Whim a Week project is impacting me in more ways than one. Its actually helping to subdue my fabriholic tendencies!

I’m working on a large order of custom drapes this week, 26 panels, some lined and some not. Simple sewing means plenty of time for stage one in my design process, virtual creation. I sew simple drapes, and imagine complex gowns, and of course, whim a whim for week 15.

I’m still thinking about Easter dresses. Who will be the model next week? I don’t know, but tomorrow will tell.

Cap sleeved sheath in gold vintage look floral with exposed zipper in blue

Whim 14 wow!

Leave a comment