A Whim Behind

Whim 18 begins and I’m a week behind. This week is Whim 19 on the calendar. Excuses are futile: I am busy. I still have photos of Whim 16 & 17 to edit and post.  I’m creative. I’ll find a way to catch up!

As planned, Whim 18 is a skirt for my mom. I found this lovely piece of poly chiffon on the end of a bolt at Jo-Ann Fabric a few years ago. I loved it, I imagined it as a dress, I measured it, and it fell short of yardage required. I brought it home anyway. I am addicted. I thought recently about squeezing a simple frock out of it, but the more I looked at it, the more I thought of how my mom would love this fabric. I had her send me her measurements and Whim 18 is for Mom aka Janie Cardona.

 

A-line elastic waist skirt in floral ploy chiffon with self belt

Whim 18 Idea Board

Mom is petite, and also a very modest lady. I’m going to make this skirt as long as the fabric will allow, as she will like it best that way. I would hem it just at the knee for her figure, which is a good length for almost everyone. But it’s not about me: I’m designing for Mom.

I did a fitting for a petite lady yesterday. She purchased a gown with matching jacket for her son’s wedding and came to me for alterations. She began to chat about why she selected this dress, all the details she loves, but conceded, “Maybe you’ll recommend I return it once you see how it fits.”  Sight unseen, gown still hidden under store’s white plastic gown bag, I told her we’ll keep it. She is in love with the dress. Sleeves need redesign, shoulder pads are too big, bodice needs adjustment, and gown is 5 inches too long. I stood by my gown philosophy: If you love what you’re wearing, you’ll look your best.

It’s my professional philosophy in general. If you love what you’re wearing, you will look your best. We walk a little taller, smile a little brighter, move with a little more grace when we’re dressed in clothes we truly love. I consider it my professional responsibility to make sure the fit is perfect as well.  I’d rather own a few really stunning dresses than a closet full of mwah.  That’s my word for the stuff we wear that is functional and practical (usually a good bargain as well) but not really our vision of our beautiful self. Mwah. We should all remove the mwah from our wardrobes.

Fabric swatch for A-line elastic waist skirt in floral ploy chiffon with self belt

Flowers for Mom!

Mom will not feel mwah in this. She will feel beautiful. I’m excited to finish it up and pop it in the mail. With my sister Bonny’s help, we may even get a photo shoot out of it!

What makes you feel beautiful?

Leave a comment